Trash talk your competition… artfully.

October 24, 2008 at 6:04 am Leave a comment

When I was creative director for a SoCal ad agency, I used to do a lot of field work before crafting a marketing strategy. I’d spend time with the client, usually the CEO of a midsize company, and ask permission to chat with key staffers including the sales manager and ride along with two or three sales reps.

No time for a ride along? Here’s some great advice from Kevin Sasser on The Sales Wars blog.

I used to compete against Microsoft in the Content Management space and so often I would get, “So, why should I buy your solution over one of the biggest, most famous companies in the world?” Start off your response by complementing your competitor. (Read that again if you have to) “To be honest, I love Microsoft. I own stock in Microsoft. As soon as my wife lets me, Im getting an Xbox.”

Read the entire post here.

Share this with your sales team. Ask how they respond when a prospect or long-time customer asks why he should by from you instead of your competitor. Make sure your marketing folks hear their answers, then ask how they will use what they heard to shape your message about the competition.

Entry filed under: key executive coach, sales. Tags: .

Leading your company through a recession. Storytelling 101

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get one today. It’s free!

YourMktgCoach Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts.

Categories


