Does advertising really work?

July 8, 2008 at 7:35 am Leave a comment

Branding works!This morning, Karen Renzi blogged about a discovery she made last week in the sketches of her 5-year-old daughter. In her words, “In the top is a “house” on blue, next a “fan” on pink, and last but not least, on the orange: Verizon. Ahh, the power of the brand: inspiring young minds everywhere.”

Ha! By the mid-80s, I’d been in the ad agency biz for several years. I was cynical about the effectiveness of my own snappy copy and “stunning” visuals. I figured I knew all the “tricks” so I couldn’t be tricked myself. Then, I found myself in a Home Depot one Saturday morning. A guy asked what I thought of the lawn mower we were both looking at. I didn’t have a clue, had never owned this kind of mower, didn’t even have a lawn. But there I was, telling this guy all about it… selling the thing like I was gonna get some huge commission if he took one home.

Yes, it’s a little scary that Karen’s little one is drawing Verizon’s logo on a Post-It note, but it’s harmless enough. At least she’s not selling lawn mowers at Home Depot based on deeply engrained subliminal messages from the advertising team at Toro… yet. :-)

Entry filed under: advertising, branding, marketing, marketing coach. Tags: , , , , , .

Who has time for social media? Should you advertise in a down economy?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get one today. It’s free!

YourMktgCoach Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts.

Categories


