Hey Qwest, take me off your list.

April 15, 2008 at 3:21 pm 4 comments

I have a bone to pick with the marketing people at Qwest. You know, the telephone/cell phone/satellite TV/DSL/VoIP people. Each week, they bombard me dozens, maybe hundreds of times with the same message… “Bundle and save.”

At this point, I would equate their efforts to waterboarding. I don’t want to trivialize the controversial “interrogation” method, but I would like to express my opinion of Qwest in a word. Yes, “waterboarding” does it quite nicely.

I don’t have a problem with the newspaper ads and inserts. No complaints about billboards, as long as they are truthful. But why am I getting so many direct mail pieces and telemarketing calls?

I’m on the “Do Not Call List,” but it’s no protection because I have a business relationship with Qwest. They are the monopolist of choice for the Seattle area and I can’t get a decent cell signal here on Bainbridge Island.

They call, day or night. I tell them I’m not interested. I already have Qwest telephone and DSL. I’ve been a DirecTV customer for 5 years, and I’m locked into a cellphone contract with Verizon. I ask them not to call again, but they do. Arrrrggggh!

Wouldn’t you think they would take the hint? Wouldn’t you think they would want to save a buck or two and take me off their list?

Of course, I’m not alone. You are probably bombarded with ad messages that make you a little crazy. How do you feel about the advertisers who won’t take “NO!” for an answer?

My advice: When you’re designing an ad campaign, include policies and procedures to honor a prospect or customer’s request to opt out. You’ll save a bunch of money and you won’t make so many enemies. Unless making enemies is your strategy, in which case I guess that whole waterboarding thing might work after all.

Entry filed under: advertising, marketing, sales. Tags: , , , .

Stop selling, start listening. Why advertise in a down economy?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brett  |  April 15, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    The sad thing is that they are clearly taking advantage of you being a customer, making it legally OK to for them to contact you. However, you’d probably be perfectly happy with them besides the fact that they spam you to death, and obviously don’t listen.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. rkenneth  |  April 15, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Thanks for commenting, Brett. As a marketing coach, I think it’s sad (and aggravating) that Qwest doesn’t listen to and respect the decision of customers who refuse their bundling offer. This should be part of their marketing plan and it’s clearly not.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. upboardin  |  April 16, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    You can call Qwest and request to be put on the internal “Do Not Solicit” list. This will remove you from outbound calling campaigns as well as mailers. (May take up to 5 business days to take effect.)

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. rkenneth  |  April 16, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion, upboardin, but I have asked them. I asked their telemarketers never to darken my doorstep again. I don’t think it’s a good idea for companies to expect customers to jump through hoops to figure out who to call, then call, sit on endless hold (just guessing), and please to be taken off their call list. In any case, my personal issues with Qwest aren’t the real point of my post. I’m suggesting that marketers think about the potential negative effects of their marketing programs and include ways for customers/prospects to opt out.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get one today. It’s free!

YourMktgCoach Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts.

Categories


